Skip to main content
'''Mary Ann Evans''' (22 November 1819 – 22 December 1880; alternatively "Mary Anne" or "Marian"), known by her pen name '''George Eliot''', was an English novelist, poet, journalist, translator and one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. She is the author of seven novels, including ''Adam Bede'' (1859), ''The Mill on the Floss'' (1860), ''Silas Marner'' (1861), ''Felix Holt, the Radical'' (1866), ''Middlemarch'' (1871–72), and ''Daniel Deronda'' (1876), most of them set in provincial England and known for their realism (arts)|realism and psychological insight. She used a male pen name, she said, to ensure her works would be taken seriously. Female authors were published under their own names during Eliot's life, but she wanted to escape the stereotype of women only writing lighthearted romances. She also wished to have her fiction judged separately from her already extensive and widely known work as an editor...
PseudonymGeorge Eliot
Birth nameMary Ann Evans
Birth date{{birth date|1819|11|22|df=y}}
Birth placeNuneaton, Warwickshire, England
Death date{{death date and age|1880|12|22|1819|11|22|df=y}}
Death placeChelsea, London|Chelsea, Middlesex, England
Resting placeHighgate Cemetery (East), Highgate, London
Nationality| education =
share Share
favorite Favorite


TOPIC atoz
up-solid down-solid